Writers: A Challenge

Let’s Senryu about Vinyl

Tre L. Loadholt
2 min readFeb 1, 2022
An image of my current vinyl entertainment space.
My “current” vinyl entertainment space. Photo Credit: ©2022 January, Tremaine L. Loadholt

I had been missing the feel of vinyl, the sheer perfect & pristine sound of a song when laid on the turntable, and so . . . as much as I’d wanted to for years, I finally purchased my own record player/turntable, and started my record collection with four used classics. What you see before you are, Zhané’s Request Line (several versions), Anita Baker’s, Same Ole Love (365 Days A Year), Roberta Flack’s Blue Lights in the Basement, and Commodores’ Midnight Magic. I intend to expand this collection over time. I already have three other artists in mind to get next (Robert Glasper, Black Radio, Hall & Oates, The Very Best of Daryl Hall & John Oates, and Bob Marley, Legend). I am extremely excited to be back in the groove of this favorite pastime of mine.

This got me thinking about a challenge. Why not senryu about vinyl/records/45s and the music we gain from this particular format?

Senryū (川柳, literally ‘river willow’) is a Japanese form of short poetry similar to haiku in construction: three lines with 17 morae (or “on”, often translated as syllables, but see the article on onji for distinctions). Senryū tend to be about human foibles while haiku tend to be about nature, and senryū are often cynical or darkly humorous while haiku are more serious. Unlike haiku, senryū do not include a kireji (cutting word), and do not generally include a kigo, or season word.[1][2]Wikipedia

Writers, this is your challenge . . . write a senryu about vinyl and the music you enjoy or did enjoy when playing your favorite records.

Here’s mine:

swept away by love
a vinyl present spinning
wilderness unknown

You can choose to use the picture above for inspiration or select your own. Please respond in the comments section, or host your senryu elsewhere, tagging this post. I look forward to seeing what you beautiful souls have to share. As always, have fun!

Write a senryu about vinyl and the music you enjoy or did enjoy when playing your favorite records.

The next challenge will be in April. I have missed these. Happy February!

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com